Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Version HistoryVersion History

Name

Workers'-Compensation-Board

Title

Workers' Compensation Board

Comments

 

Contact

 

Contact E-Mail Address

 

Contact Name

 

Contact Picture

 

Rollup Image

 

Target Audiences

No targeting

Page Image

 

Page Content

Since 1987 and pursuant to KRS 342.285, the Kentucky Workers’ Compensation Board has been the first step in the appellate process in a workers’ compensation litigated claim.  The three members of the board are appointed to four-year terms by the governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate.  Board members must possess qualifications of Court of Appeals judges.
 
Beginning in 1994, statutory alterations obligated the board to render its opinion within 60 days of the filing of the last brief.   The cases are randomly assigned to each board member to be the primary author of that opinion.  In each opinion, unless it is necessary for a board member to recuse himself from the case, all three will participate in the decision.
 
From 1994 to present, approximately 65 percent to 72 percent of the decisions rendered by the Workers’ Compensation Board were appealed no further.  In the years in which a higher percentage of appeals occur, it generally follows that many of these cases are addressing new law changes.  Because of major changes in the Kentucky Workers’ Compensation Act in 1994, 1996, 2000 and now with a significant change dealing with coal workers’ pneumoconiosis, appeals addressing first-time issues have tended to increase.
 
For a list of opinions issued by the Board, please click here.

Workers' Compensation Board ​Secretary/Staff Attorney

Alvey, Michael W.
​email: Michael.alvey@ky.gov

Theresa Absher
email:  Theresa.absher@ky.gov  

Sarah Bash Brian
email:  ​Sarah.Brian@ky.gov

​Rebekkah Bravo Rechter
email:  Rebekkah.Rechter@ky.gov
​Bill Pospishil
email:  William.Pospishil@ky.gov

​Melanie Montgomery
email:  Melanie.Montgomery@ky.gov  


​Stivers, Franklin A.
email:  Franklin.Stivers@ky.gov

Tiffanie Martin​
email:  Tiffanie.Martin@ky.gov
Silvana Minella (Lexington Office)
email:  Silvana.Minella@ky.gov
 
 

Summary Links

Byline

 

Article Date

 

Image Caption

Document ID

QNHAKQED42A2-171-2

RC Text1

RC Text2

RC Text3

RC Text4

RC Title1

 

RC Title2

 

RC Title3

 

RC Title4

 

Section Text1

Section Text2

Section Text3

Section Text4

Section Title1

 

Section Title2

 

Section Title3

 

Section Title4

 

Date Modified

 

Contact Info

Department of Workers' Claims
657 Chamberlin Avenue
Frankfort KY  40601
Phone: (502) 564-5550

Section Text10

Section Text5

Section Text6

Section Text7

Section Text8

Section Text9

Section Title10

 

Section Title5

 

Section Title6

 

Section Title7

 

Section Title8

 

Section Title9

 
Content Type: Article Page
Version: 20.0
Created at 12/29/2011 8:41 AM by System Account
Last modified at 1/8/2014 2:06 PM by System Account