37th Kentucky Labor-Management Conference
September 9, 10 and 11, 2014
Updated Award and Scholarship Forms will be available in February, 2014  
Established in 1977, the conference is governed by a Board of Directors and co-sponsored by the Kentucky Labor Cabinet and the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development. The Kentucky Labor-Management Conference serves as the centerpiece of the state's effort to promote labor-management cooperation as an enhancement to economic development.  The event provides participants a relaxed atmosphere, apart from the work environment, that is conducive to positive, meaningful dialogue between labor and management.
The conference begins with two (2) days of interactive educational opportunities in which the participants are given the chance to talk directly with the presenters on a wide variety of topics of mutual interest to labor and management.  The final day of the conference is reserved for networking activities designed to team labor and management together in a recreational setting.  Input from participants over the years has indicated that many issues that may have resulted in conflict have been resolved in the relaxed atmosphere of the conference.
Other conference highlights include the presentation of the Labor and Management Awards, the Julian Carroll: Young Labor and Business Leader Awards, and the Labor-Management Scholarship Award.

Board of Directors
​Name ​Organization ​Phone ​Representing ​Term Expiration
Todd Dunn​,
UAW Local 862 (502) 241-9491 Labor December 2014​
Ed Gibson, Secretary Kentucky Professional Firefighters​ (502) 445-0123 Labor​ December 2015​

Vaughn Harbin​

Ford Louisville Assembly Plant (502) 364-3873 Management December 2015​
Kyle Henderson Plumbers & Steamfitters Local 184 (270) 442-3213 Labor December 2016
Howard T. Hughes Operating Engineers Local 181 (270) 826-2704 Labor December 2016
Vacant Management December 2014
Greg Higdon, Co-Chair​ Kentucky Association of Manufacturers​ (502) 352-2485​ Management​ December 2013​
Larry Jaggers​​ Kentucky State AFL-CIO​ (270) 774-2265​ ​Labor December 2014​
Greg Pauley, Treasurer AEP - Kentucky Power Company (502) 696-7007 Management December 2013​
Amy Scarborough
AT&T ​(859)623-7272 ​Management December 2015

Amanda Smith

Sekisui Specialty Chemicals (270) 395-8503 ​Management December 2014
John Stovall
Teamsters, Local 783 (502) 231-9596 Labor December 2015
Registration Information

The 37th Kentucky Labor-Management Conference will be held September 9, 10, and 11, 2014, at Kentucky Dam Village State Resort Park, in Gilbertsville.

2014 Tentative One Page Agenda.pdf2014 Tentative One Page Agenda.pdf

  • Hotel Information will be provided once you have complete your on-line registration


Labor-Management Conference Awards

The Board of Directors has three (3) awards that recognize excellence in labor-management cooperation and education.  The awards are listed below along with appropriate form for nomination or application.  If you know of a deserving individual please nominate them or give them the information so they can apply.  The Board accepts nominations throughout the year.  


Labor and Management Awards

The Labor and Management Awards were first presented in 1987 and represent a commitment to excellence in cooperative processes.  Awarded each year to a representative from labor and a representative from management who have demonstrated this sincere commitment to the concept of labor-management cooperation, these recipients have sought to find the common ground necessary to make their respective enterprises more competitive in the global marketplace through true cooperation.

Congratulations to our 2013 Labor and Management Award Recipients, Mr. Steven M. Stone and Mr. Delbert "Butch" Newhouse!

2014 Labor and Management Award Form.pdf2014 Labor and Management Award Form.pdf

Julian M. Carroll Young Labor and Business Leader Awards

In 2007, the Board of Directors established the Julian M. Carroll Young Labor and Business Leader Awards to recognize excellence in young leaders who have demonstrated their commitment to the promotion of labor-management cooperation in Kentucky.  Any person, age 40 or younger on September 1, 2012, representing a Kentucky labor organization or management of an organization doing business in Kentucky is eligible for nomination. The nominee must be actively involved in a cooperative labor-management program or must be known for his or her work in the promotion of the principles of labor-management cooperative programs on a statewide, industry wide, area wide, in-plant, or public sector basis.

Congratulations to our 2013 Julian M. Carroll Young Labor Leader Award Recipient Mr. Kayne Ishmael!

2014 Julian Carroll Award Form.pdf2014 Julian Carroll Award Form.pdf

Labor-Management Scholarship Award

The Board of Directors established the Kentucky Labor-Management Scholarship Award in 2005.  Up to $4,000 is awarded to students who have plans to pursue a career in a labor-management relations related field or an apprentice's trade.

Congratulations to our 2013 Scholarship Recipients, Hannah Marie Miles and Myranda Druien!​

2014 KLMC Scholarship Criteria.pdf2014 KLMC Scholarship Criteria.pdf

2014 KLMC Scholarship Application.pdf2014 KLMC Scholarship Application.pdf

The Board of Directors would Like to thank all of our generous sponsors.  The success of the conference is directly attributed to their continued support and contributions.  We invite your organization to consider being a sponsor for the 2013 conference.